So last night I watched…

Jules and Jim

So last night I watched Francois Truffaut’s classic Jules and Jim. I hadn’t watched the film in a long time and I had forgotten how influential it has been. Watching it I could see all the camera movements/shots/cuts that filmmakers such as Wes Anderson have borrowed and are using today.

 

My favorite part of the film is when Jeanne Moreau’s Catherine sings Albert’s song to Jules and Jim. It’s such a nice song and works brilliantly with the scene. A lot of people don’t like this film because they don’t get the characters or they feel that the characters are to unlikeable. I don’t understand why people have to like characters to appreciate a great film.

I don’t want to say too much about the film because I think those that haven’t seen it should go, watch and decide for themselves…so yea…go watch.

 

Leave a Reply

