Why I Love…Woody Allen

“Dying is one of the few things that can be done as easily lying down” – Woody Allen

So I got a little spare time this afternoon and figured what the hell, let’s stick up another blog post! I’m a huge Woody Allen fan and so decided I’d do a quick post on why I love him so much.

When asked in an interview about his fans recently Woody replied – “I don’t know who they are, because they don’t seem to be any discern­ible group. They’re not older people, but they’re not young people. They’re not college kids. They’re not out-of-towners. I really don’t know who they are. I know this: There are not many of them.”

Well there may not be many of us but we are fiercely loyal and are all totally in love with everything this man creates. What other filmmaker has made a film a year for the last 40 years? Who else has been as consistently funny and appealed to so many different generations? Who else sacks off the Oscars (even when nominated) to instead hit a jazz bar and jam on the clarinet all night?

Often imitated but never equaled, Woody Allen is a genius writer/director/comedian. With Annie Hall he practically invented the modern romantic comedy and shook things up with it’s non linear style, very much a deserving multiple Oscar winner.

My personal favorite has got to be Sweet and Lowdown, even if it is just for Emmet Ray’s many amazing lines  (“wanna go to the dump and shoot some rats?” “First time I had sex, 7 years old” and the best one, while Hattie is replacing a tire on his car “What’s the matter? Nobody said it was going to be a picknick. You know I can’t risk my hands”). I love Sean Penn and Samantha Morton’s performances as well, both are perfect as the arrogant jazz guitarist and sweet mute girl.

I’m really excited for From Rome With Love, mostly because it serves as Woody’s return to acting. Owen Wilson, Larry David etc. have been great in his absence but I’ve got a feeling seeing Woody back on the big screen again is going to be something special. I just hope it gets a UK release date soon and that we don’t have to wait months after everywhere else has already seen it!

Basically I am a low-culture person. I prefer watching baseball with a beer and some meatballs.” – Woody Allen

One response to “Why I Love…Woody Allen

Leave a Reply

